You cannot visit Llangennith without giving surfing a try. There are a number of surf schools and board hire places to cater for everyone’s needs.
Pint and food in the King's Head:
Experience the vibe in the King's head at the end of a hot summers day when the surf has held up.
Walk up over Tankey Lake moor:
Walk up over the hills above Llangenith and take in the spectacular views from Rhossili right around to the laugher estuary. Follow this link to the details of the walk from our walking guide.
More About Llangennith
A picturesque Gower village centred around the church and King's Head pub, this was a very quiet corner of the peninsular - until surfing was discovered! The beach has the most consistent surf on the peninsular and this has turned Llangennith into the hub of the local surf scene. With great campsites, surf schools and PJs surf shop, summer or winter (when the big waves come) this place has a very special buzz.
The beach at Llangennith has been the scene of many ship wrecks. At low tide you can still see the remains of the paddle steamer “City of Bristol” which came to rest here in 1840 with much loss of life. In fact Llangenith has a chequered past. Its villagers were famous for their "nothing too hot or too heavy" ways which bought them the nick-name of Llangenny Oxen. Ship wrecks on Rhossili bay were a welcome source of income and the villagers were always the first in attendance. This attitude always set the village apart from the rest of Gower, and in fact the country. A good example of this is that during World War I, the British government introduced daylight saving time. The villagers held a public meeting to decide whether they would follow suit, following a public vote it was decided to fall in line with the rest of the country, but only for for a trial period of one month.
The church in Llangennith is known as St. Cenydd and is believed to date from the 6th century. Some stories say that it was first established as a hermitage by St Cenydd, but was destroyed by Vikings in 986. The present church is thought to date from the 12th century and was consecrated in 1102. The church is also said to be the burial place of Iestyn ap Gwrgant, last ruler of the Welsh kingdom of Morgannwg.
Parc Le Breos House